Busy Vegetarian Mom

Quick and Easy Vegetarian Meals for Busy Moms

Vegan Meat Substitues…Tempeh

on February 17, 2012

When you start browsing through vegan and vegetarian cookbooks, you may find you don’t always know what the ingredients are.  At least I didn’t so I thought over the next several posts I would define some of the commonly used meat substitutes. 

One that I found interesting and in many recipes was Tempeh.  It is a whole soy product that is fermented and then bound into a firm patty.  It proves to be an excellent source of fiber, protein and vitamins which makes it an excellent addition to a vegan diet. 

The taste can be described as mushroom like with a meaty texture.  It is popularly used in dishes such as “hamburger patties”, tacos, chili or simply broken apart and fried. 

While I have not yet tasted it, I am definitely going to keep my eyes open and try it when I see it.  That would be the largest obstacle, at least in my area, it is not something that is easily found. 

Leave a Reply

